In nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti   Leave a comment

In nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti

Go, he said – I ran
White surplice, black cassock
my polished shoes
A church bell to be rung

Sunday, Mass, the offering
In dead Latin I served
I never understood the words only
When to ring the Sanctus bell

Kneeling to pray, this world
Of faith confused me
Young, when my father died
I felt I lost what little I had

Yet I still knew
To ring the Sanctus bell
Even if I didn’t know why
They were to be rung

A joyous sound it tells me now
Those bells of church and altar
I just rung them loud enough
To keep me out of hell

In nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti

Amen

Posted 09/05/2013 by DarKarsean in poem, poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

