I Want to Write like Shakespeare   14 comments

I wanted to write,
like Shakespeare.
I wanted my words to
fight fire with fire,
to make your hair
stand on end.

I had seen others
wear their heart
upon their sleeves,
their words
a naked truth
in a brave new world.

Words worthy,
or just a piece of work
for goodness sake.
With baited breath
I have waited for mine.
Instead I am sorry sight.

With writing not
for the faint hearted,
come what may
I should make my
green eyed monster
vanish into thin air.

I have wanted to
write like Shakespeare,
for my words to take me
out of the jaws of death
and to show to others,
my brave new world.

Yet my words now fail like a bad
knock, knock! who’s there?
They were to be my
be all and end all
but I have failed,
and now sent packing

I had wanted to write
like Shakespeare, but my
skills have, seen better days
Now as I have read my last
maybe I have written my last also

Maybe I should write like me instead

Posted 05/08/2012 by DarKarsean in Uncategorized

14 responses to “I Want to Write like Shakespeare

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No no no–can’t quit writing, Not an option–Soldier On!!

    • Thanks all you for your comments – 🙂 This was a write of a different kind – more of an – imagining poem. It was written from the perspective of someone who wanted to write like Shakespeare. Most of the lines in this poem were made up of sayings which have been attributed to Shakespeare. Even the line ‘knock, knock! who’s there?’ is a Shakespeare saying. In the end the person realizes that they cannot write like Shakespeare as his words have already been written. So, no fear – I’m not giving up writing just yet. Thanks for taking the time. … tony

  2. well, Shakespeare isn’t my choice, but we all, at least at some point, want to write like others. not?

    • Thanks Dhyan – not me in this case, but there are many who aspire to write like others’ Shakespeare actually had some really good sayings in amongst all his writings. I didn’t realise how many there were until I looked into it – most of the lines in the poem are made up using some of his sayings … tony

  3. Absolutely not!!! It is forbidden, not allowed, you MUST write, after all, how could you deny us the masterpiece which lies just around the corner????

    • Thank you so much Kevin. 🙂 This was a write of a different kind – more of an – imagining poem. It was written from the perspective of someone who wanted to write like Shakespeare. Most of the lines in this poem were made up of sayings which have been attributed to Shakespeare. Even the line ‘knock, knock! who’s there?’ is a Shakespeare saying. In the end the person realizes that they cannot write like Shakespeare as his words have already been written. So, no fear – I’m not giving up writing just yet. Thanks for taking the time. … tony

  4. Must write, You are good! only your own heart has your words! Linda

    • Thank you so much Linda. 🙂 This was a write of a different kind – more of an – imagining poem. It was written from the perspective of someone who wanted to write like Shakespeare. Most of the lines in this poem were made up of sayings which have been attributed to Shakespeare. Even the line ‘knock, knock! who’s there?’ is a Shakespeare saying. In the end the person realizes that they cannot write like Shakespeare as his words have already been written. So, no fear – I’m not giving up writing just yet. Thanks for taking the time. … tony

    • that’s okay – I can be very vague at times with my writing – lol … tony

  5. What is this? It is easy in the face of other good writers to lose heart. Losing heart is par for the course…it comes with the territory of being a writer. All of us doubt our abilities, especially when so few read what we have written. We send our missives into cyberspace in the hope of receiving one crumb of recognition. All of us think what we have done is not very good. That is because we feel the intense demand of soul seeking expression. Grasping for the rhythm, the pulse of unformulated words is like our own heartbeat. An artist strives fro perfection, for the song to sing itself. Only Shakespeare writes like Shakespeare. You write like you.

    • Thank you so much Niamh. 🙂 This was a write of a different kind – more of an – imagining poem. It was written from the perspective of someone who wanted to write like Shakespeare. Most of the lines in this poem were made up of sayings which have been attributed to Shakespeare. Even the line ‘knock, knock! who’s there?’ is a Shakespeare saying. In the end the person realizes that they cannot write like Shakespeare as his words have already been written. So, no fear – I’m not giving up writing just yet. Thanks for taking the time. … tony

Leave a Reply

