Music and Words   Leave a comment

The music is in my head
my doorway to the soul
as I listen to the chords
the beats and back-beats
thundering and roaring,
my head pounding
all I have to do to enter
the time warp that is in
my mind is to close my eyes
and turn the music up loud
Yet I am sick of the soulless
repetition of notes that makes
today’s music all sound the same
where the notes of musicians
can remind me of the words
of the new age poets of today
their words met and left by
the metaphors of their time
the message obscured by the
jumble of well worn cliches
the world is not that smart
to understand the innuendo
across time and space that
quasi intellectuals say they
understand so that they can
look more intelligent than those
they look down upon, where the
writers obfuscate their words
so that they can do the same
give me a word or words where
the meanings are clear
give me a musical note that
is clear and crisp that is
not complicated by the static
that surround it
I want words in my words
and notes in my music
we are too far gone now to
change the rules
change the notes
change the words
(or the form that surrounds them)
just because we can
because the changes
that ring today cannot be
understood by ordinary people
give me music and words
that can be enjoyed
not just because we
understand their sound
but because we
understand their meaning

Leave a Reply

